Glossary of Terms

Curriculum accountability is defined as the professional responsibility of educators, site leaders and state office personnel to:

  • Provide a comprehensive account of the progress and achievement of learners as described in the SACSA Framework (assessment and reporting)
  • Explicitly account for the steps taken to improve the level of achievement within the Outcomes and Curriculum Standards (planning and programming)

Behaviour Management
Behaviour Management refers to the processes schools use to work with students in regard to how to appropriately behave in the classroom, school yard and with each other. Good behaviour management strategies provide opportunities for best practice learning. Many schools develop their own Student Behaviour Management Policies, which can be provided upon request.

The school curriculum refers to the learning pathway that students undertake from Birth to Year 12. The SACSA Framework describes the curriculum Key Ideas and Outcomes all learners can expect their education to be built on. The eight areas of learning described in the SACSA Framework are:

  • Arts
  • Design and Technology
  • English
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Society and Environment

Australian Curriculum
In 2008, the Australian education ministers agreed that a national curriculum would play a key role in delivering quality education and committed to the development of
a Foundation to Year 12 national curriculum. The Australian Curriculumhas been developed, initially in the areas of English, mathematics, science and history, to be followed by geography, the arts and languages and the remaining learning areas focusing on economics and business, civics and citizenship, health and physical
education, design and the technologies. The Arts Curriculum is in the process of final approvals and will be on The Australian Curriculum website in the near future.

Duty of Care
Duty of Care is anticipating and avoiding foreseeable harm or minimising harm when it occurs. For example, Duty of Care can involve identifying risks, being careful about physical and emotional safety and knowing what to do when someone has been harmed. A moral duty of care exists when there is no legal duty of care - this is the case for a majority of arts workers.

EALD - English as an Additional Language or Dialect

ESL - English as a Second Language
Some schools will have specialist teachers or courses to assist students whose first language is not English. Many new migrants or refugee students would work in these programs.

in loco parentis
This means a person standing in the shoes of a parent, therefore completely on the side of the child. With this phrase the law recognises the parent's supreme commitment to his or her child. For us ... in schools to do anything less than advocate zealously for our children's rights and safety would be irresponsible and a betrayal of their trust.

LOTE - Languages other than English
You got it...Languages other than English e.g. Indonesian, Japanese, Chinese, Italian etc...Most schools teach at least one other language some more.

Mandatory Reporting (Child Safe Environments)
The Children's Protection Act, 1993 obliges departmental staff, contract staff and volunteers to notify Family and Youth Services if they suspect on reasonable grounds that a child has been or is being abused or neglected. There are Child Safe Environments Training courses, which you can participate in if interested. This is also referred to as Child Safe Environments Training.

The Department for Families and Communities’ website also provides helpful information.

NAPLAN – National Assessment Program Literacy and Numeracy
In 2008, the National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) commenced in Australian schools. Every year, all students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9 are assessed on the same days using national tests in Reading, Writing, Language Conventions (Spelling, Grammar and Punctuation) and Numeracy.

NIT - non-instruction time
Non-instruction time is time allocated to teachers when they are not teaching students. This time is allocated to allow teachers to attend to curriculum planning, lesson preparation, administrative tasks associated with teaching responsibilities, etc. Non-instruction time is provided by another teacher who has expertise in a particular learning area, e.g. LOTE, Visual Arts, Drama, Science.

SACE - South Australian Certificate of Education
The current SACE caters for Year 11 and Year 12 students. The recent curriculum developments associated with the SACSA Framework define the senior years as comprising Years 10 - 12.

SACSA - South Australian Curriculum Standards and Accountability Framework
The SACSA Framework is mandated for all government schools and has been adopted by a number of schools in the Catholic and Independent schooling sectors. In short it is the curriculum for years R - 10.

SCOOTLE The Schools Online Teaching and Learning Environment
You will find this another useful resource for keeping up-to-date with developments to the Australian Curriculum.

Glossary of DECD Acronyms
As a visitor in a school environment you will find that educators often have conversations that include many acronyms. You will find this glossary, in alphabetical order very useful.