2022 Seven News Young Achiever Awards Finalists Announced


The Finalists have been selected for the Carclew Creative Achievement Award in the 2022 Seven News Young Achiever Awards. The Awards aim to encourage, acknowledge and reward the achievements valuable contribution young individuals make in their local communities.

The Finalists are:

  • Nathan May, 27 of Rostrevor
  • Samuel Wannan, 26 of Whyalla Norrie
  • Katherine Sortini, 25 of Maylands

Nathan May, 27 of Rostrevor is a proud Arabana and Yawuru man. A musician, youth mentor who has worked with other artists to perform on Facebook Live and recorded events. He has also written songs for the governments’ wellbeing campaigns to promote health and wellness to the Aboriginal community during the pandemic. Since 2020, Nathan has been helping develop racism prevention programs with Reconciliation SA.

Samuel Wannan, 26 of Whyalla Norrie is an artist, youth arts educator and a former Creative Producer of D’Faces Youth Arts. Their independent practice incorporates illustration, animation, art and graphic design. Sam’s work focuses on community connection and supporting young people through a wide range of projects. In 2021, Sam was diagnosed with Tourette Syndrome. In 2022, they were awarded a highly competitive Carclew Fellowship.

Katherine Sortini, 25 of Maylands is an emerging actor, writer and theatre-maker. She founded Deus Ex Femina, whose first original work ‘All the Things I Couldn’t Say’ will debut in the 2022 RUMPUS Season. Katherine is an Honours Degree graduate from the Flinders Drama Centre. She has received the highly competitive Carclew Fellowship for 2022, where she will undertake mentorship with award-winning playwright Emily Steel.

The Carclew Creative Achievement Award will recognise young South Australians using their creativity and associated skills to make an impact in their field.

The Finalists will be presented and Winners announced at an Awards Gala Presentation Dinner to be held at Hilton Adelaide on Friday 06th May. Category winners will each receive $500 cash, $500 in Qoin, $500 OTR voucher and a complimentary 6 month membership to The Impact Collective valued at $2,090, along with a trophy.

One of the fourteen winners will be chosen as the 2022 SA Young Achiever of the Year and will receive an additional complimentary 6-month membership to The Impact Collective, with the 12-month membership valued at a total of $4,060 along with a state trophy.

All Finalists will go into the People’s Choice Award, which is run through our Facebook page; “7NEWS Young Achiever Awards SA”. Please ensure you like our page and vote for your favourite Finalist. The winner will be announced at the Awards Gala Presentation Dinner

Community members including friends and colleagues of each Finalist are invited to share this special occasion. Tickets are $155.00 each which includes a three-course meal, beverages and the Awards Presentations. Tickets can be easily purchased online by visiting www.youngachieverawards.com, clicking SA, then clicking on the “purchase tickets” icon.

For further information about our other Finalists or purchasing tickets please feel free to contact the Awards Office on 8132 0753.

Congratulations and good luck to all Finalists.

What's happening at Carclew